Virginia

I love to race.
It’s been a while – since November.

This one was all about dusting off the cobwebs.

I went into it with little rest and no speed work but a lot of excitement!

It was also exciting to see Jenny – my coach. I stayed with her in Virginia and she is phenomenal. We hit some pretty hard bumps in the road during my stay. I’ll spare the details  and just say Jenny knows how to work a problem. It was inspiring and insightful to say the least.

Race morning we rose early to make the 3 hour drive to Smithfield. I kept watching the thermometer and was a little nervous when we arrived – it still read 44. But we had 2 hrs before the start and the sun was only getting brighter.

The race attracted a wide group of people…

IMG_0775

It was fun to be racing in a new place with new people. The swim, as mentioned last post, was snake style – up and down across six lanes of a 25 meter pool. Each swimmer spaced 15 seconds apart.

My swim was slow – I lost significant time on open turns. I could feel it each time I hit the wall to duck under the lines and knew it was costing me.

The bike was a BLAST. It’s funny how your race mind takes over, I didn’t even notice coming out of 80 degree water into the chilly air and wind (I’m not entirely sure what it had warmed to by the time we started). I had a slip up in T1 which produced an embarrassingly slow time but soon enough I was out on the road and MAN did it feel good to be racing. I dug in and enjoyed the course. 10 miles is short.

The run – I am so happy with my run. It was a significant PR and doubly happy to find it was a legitimate 5k course. Hard work and heart surgery pay off.

That my friends may have been the most amazing part of the race. My heart rate wasn’t sky rocketing before the start – it was certainly excited but it was nothing compared to what I’ve known before and I could breath on the run. It was a gift that didn’t completely sink in till I started to reflect…

All in all it was a great trip. Jenny brought 3 other athletes down 2 of which made the podium, count Jenny and myself and that makes 4 out of 5 on the podium – way to go WhiteLine Tri and Velo!

IMG_0773

If your interested in results check them out here!

The Sunday after I took myself for a long run to the memorials, Thomas Jefferson, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Martin Luther King, … it was sunny, it was brisk, it was beautiful. I broke from my run to stop and read the powerful inscriptions and pay my respects to these powerful figures that have shaped our lives.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.”
(MLK)

– Rae

Leave a Reply

